Crossandra ‘Fortuna’

image image

Invited to see my friend’s new kitchen I wanted to bring her a small surprise.Of course it pretty soon turned out that a flower is the best option-what can be better as preparing breakfast in a new modern kitchen, looking at beautiful flowers and looking forward to a new day? No wonder as soon as I came to nursery  this Crossandra fortuna was the one I picked for my friend-look at the vivid flowers and shiny leaves!And her name!On my way to my friend’s house I was thinking of many Indian woman buying Kanakamparam (Indian name for Crossandra) at street markets to make karnakamparam garlands for their hair, wishing to have a great day.

A Street Market Scene, India - Edwin Lord Weeks

Edwin Lord Weeks: A Street Market Scene, India” oil on Canvas, location: Private collection

from:http://www.wikigallery.org/wiki/painting_86384/Edwin-Lord-Weeks/page-1

Crossandra
Crossandra infundibuliformis
Scientific classification
Kingdom: Plantae
(unranked): Angiosperms
(unranked): Eudicots
(unranked): Asterids
Order: Lamiales
Family: Acanthaceae
Genus: Crossandra
Salisb.
Species

from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crossandra

 

 

22 thoughts on “Crossandra ‘Fortuna’

    1. They are native in India, where they make flower garlands with them and jasmine, that’s why I’we chosen this Indian motif.And because I miss summer and sun;)

  1. Beautiful plant, beautiful picture. :-) Orange is such a cheery colour, particularly combined with the glossy, dark green leaves.

Leave a Reply

