Travertine and moth orchids

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It has all started with an old tray I couldn’t throw away.But didn’t know what exactly to do with it either.Remembering my travertine leaf imprint I ‘ve got an idea.I transverted my old tray into indoor garden,putting on display flowering phalaenopsises, pretending to be moths to fly (oh my,don’t we have enough moths pretending they wouldn’t eat my sweater?).I had great time adding little glass fish(which by no means  is jelly fish),palm plant and candles resembling stones  .As travertine imprinted little leaf for eternity,could the calm setting this little secret garden stay with me forever?Pretending the little glass fish may grant tree wishes,this would be the first one.And you, what would your tree wishes be?

Travertine is a form of limestone deposited by mineral springs, especially hot springs. Travertine often has a fibrous or concentric appearance and exists in white, tan, and cream-colored varieties. It is formed by a process of rapid precipitation of calcium carbonate, often at the mouth of a hot spring or in a limestone cave.

Travertine is one of several natural stones that are used for paving patios and garden paths.

from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Travertine

Phalaenopsis
Closeup of a Phalaenopsis flower
Scientific classification
Kingdom: Plantae
(unranked): Angiosperms
(unranked): Monocots
Order: Asparagales
Family: Orchidaceae
Subfamily: Epidendroideae
Tribe: Vandeae
Subtribe: Aeridinae
Alliance: Phalaenopsis
Blume
Genus: Phalaenopsis
Blume 1825
from :http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phalaenopsis

 

 

12 thoughts on “Travertine and moth orchids

    1. There are certain rules for plants (it is always better to water less than too much), but for good photo there are no rules, and you make great photos!

      Like

  1. Such beautiful orchids… I’ve been enjoying your blog and have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Cheers! 😀

    Like

    1. THANK YOU so much,I appreciate the nomination from you a lot!And absolutely:congratulations for your award!
      Now have to move on-15 blogs (easy-peasy) and 7-me things(nightmare);)
      Cheers!

      Like

      1. I know, right! Even though tell the world about the outdoorsy things I’m doing via internet, I had trouble figuring out what to say about myself. 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

