Saved office Phalaenopsises in full bloom

My husband works in a big new building with many modern offices equipped with some minimalism furniture and plants.I don’t know when these plants have become orchids and mostly orchids,namely phalaenopsises. It could be they have become trendy plants for their beauty,low maintenance,long flowering,colors available.Jet their decorative value can not reverse that they are live plants,they do get worse if not properly watered,if let on hot sun ,neglected.Dead or almost dead  plants then finish in trash bin.My husband ,knowing my love for rescuing creepy flowers from nurseries ,took his office’s fallen Phalaenopsis star  home,as I could give it a second chance.Looks like his coworkers are some hidden plant lovers, too,so knowing he took his Phalaenopsis corps home for me to rescue it, they have given their creepy ones  for me, too.Anyway,it is a good feeling to know these plants have been rescued,they are just in the middle of abundant flowering right now………..

The generic name means “Phalaen[a]-like” and is probably a reference to the genusPhalaena, the name given by Carolus Linnaeus to a group of large moths; the flowers of some species supposedly resemble moths in flight.[2] For this reason, the species are sometimes called Moth orchids.They are native throughout southeast Asia from the Himalayan mountains to the islands of PolilloPalawan and Zamboanga del Norte in the island of Mindanao in thePhilippines and northern AustraliaOrchid Island of Taiwan is named after this genus. Little recent information about their habitat and their ecology in nature is available since little field research has been done in the last decades.

Phalaenopsis
Closeup of a Phalaenopsis flower
Scientific classification
Kingdom: Plantae
(unranked): Angiosperms
(unranked): Monocots
Order: Asparagales
Family: Orchidaceae
Subfamily: Epidendroideae
Tribe: Vandeae
Subtribe: Aeridinae
Alliance: Phalaenopsis
Blume
Genus: Phalaenopsis
Blume 1825
Type species
Phalaenopsis amabilis
Blume (1825)
Species
see text.
Synonyms
  • Doritis Lindl.
  • Grafia A. D. Hawkes
  • Kingidium P. F. Hunt
  • Kingiella Rolfe
  • Polychilos Breda
  • Polystylus Hasselt ex Hassk.
  • Staurites Rchb. f.
  • Stauroglottis Schauer
  • Synadena Raf.   from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phalaenopsis

 

6 thoughts on “Saved office Phalaenopsises in full bloom

  1. I have a lovely pink orchid that my mom gave me as a housewarming gift. It just loves my studio window and is either blooming or about to bloom constantly. The window has some morning light and no heater near by. I hope to collect some other colors. LOVE your pictures! ~ Wendy

    Like

    1. Pink orchid is always god looking,I agree.My wish is to get a yellow one that wouldn’t look like unripe or sick one, but as nice as pink or white ones do.All the best from “tropical” Ljubljana !

      Like

  2. I have an orchid right now I’m trying to save. It is actually my fault it’s dead. I replanted it out of its plastic cup because I thought it needed more room for its roots to grow, and that was a huge rookie mistake. Orchids love their roots to be held tightly. I now replanted it back into a plastic cup after months of it being in looser soil, and it does not look like it will recover. But lets keep our fingers crossed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

