The autumn sun of quince from my memories

Whenever I see quince I remember the fruity smell of yellow ripe quinces my grand-grand mother kept on the top of her carved laundry armoire. It were times when bedrooms were seldom heated and there were no artificial air fresheners to buy, when bed sheets were from white linen and always ironed ,when wooden parquet floor was waxed and we kids had warm home shoes she had made for us. At that times I had always known when autumn was coming.There were new, vivid yellow quinces in my grandma room and there was fresh wood prepared in front of fireplace.And there were sweet sugared pieces of quince cheese we kids got  in the early evenings …………that is why I was so happy finding all these quinces today, and that is, why I wish to see the film about an artist painting a quince tree from September till November………

image

image

image

File:Cydonia oblonga - Köhler–s Medizinal-Pflanzen-049.jpg

Quince
Cydonia oblonga flowers
Scientific classification
Kingdom: Plantae
(unranked): Angiosperms
(unranked): Eudicots
(unranked): Rosids
Order: Rosales
Family: Rosaceae
Subfamily: Amygdaloideae[1]
Tribe: Maleae
Subtribe: Malinae
Genus: Cydonia
Species: C. oblonga
Binomial name
Cydonia oblonga
Mill.

from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quince

File:Fra Juan Sánchez Cotán 001.jpg

Juan Sánchez Cotán:Quince, Cabbage, Melon and Cucumber,from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Juaez_Cotánn_Sánch

Peeling Quinces - Nikolaos Lytras

Nikolaos Lytras  Peeling Quinces ,  from:http://www.wikipaintings.org/en/nikolaos-lytras/peeling-quince

 

14 thoughts on “The autumn sun of quince from my memories

  1. Love it! I knew almost nothing of quinces until my adulthood, other than the flowering varieties’ beauty, and only got to know and adore Membrillo and quince jams in rather recent years. But I’m working hard to make up for lost time!! 😉

    Like

  2. I planted a quince tree in our garden a couple of years ago and it’s already made amazing growth, I can’t wait for the day when we can pick those wonderful yellow fruits that signify autumn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

