Dieffenbachia, window and Wienna

ImageImageImage

File:Dieffenbachia daguensis DPR.png

from:http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dieffenbachia_daguensis_DPR.png

Dieffenbachia was the plant growing to in-believable size in the window of a restaurant in the middle of the town .Bus had a stop just in front of that window and I remember my childhood fascination seeing this plant each time again on my bus ride.I believed it had to be very difficult to grow such a big , old plant , filling the whole window with white green leaves each turning toward light from the street. Usually there were no lights turned on in the restaurant, the darkness of unknown inside was shadowing the vivid patterns of the only evident thing to be alive behind that window.Many years later I had a dinner in the same restaurant and could not believe the plant was still there, strong and green as from yesterday, but from this side of the window almost obvious and earthly, far less mysterious as it looked from my bus view.Yet it left me with a wish to grow my own dieffenbachia.

I remembered this story for in the meantime my diffenbachia grew big and old, indeed, but more as that.A couple of years ago I had a wish to set a group of garden volunteers in our botanical garden.Now they are here, a vivid group of dedicated senior garden volunteers working and learning in the garden.I work on different projects together with them and so the idea to make a study visit to Vienna botanical garden this spring arouse. How surprised I was to learn how dieffenbachia got the name!

Dieffenbachia was named by Heinrich Wilhelm Schott, the Director of the Botanical Gardens in Vienna, to honor his head gardener Joseph Dieffenbach (1796–1863).from:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieffenbachia

p. s. : to learn more about growing dieffenbachia visit : https://plantcaretoday.com/dieffenbachia-plant-care.html

.

3 thoughts on “Dieffenbachia, window and Wienna

Leave a Reply

