Wisteria sinensis and buzz about flower constancy

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

No matter how I’ve tried,I’ve newer recorded such a success with my garden efforts as did I with simple act of planting Wisteria sinensis alba about ten years ago.I am absolutely noncompetitive gardener,but must admit that it feels good when my neighbors stop by our house in simple admiration of white waterfall,I’ve noticed even some envy in eyes of my dear next-door neighbor having blue variety of wisteria which doesn’t want to flower.But there is something I enjoy even more as flattery during May, when my wisteria is  just as magical smelling cloud-it is sitting on our wisteria terrace and observing many bees and bumblebees constantly flying among scented flowers.There are so many a buzz is becoming  a sort of music,vanishing with wind and appearing stronger again and again.The same one bumblebees are coming back to eat sweet nectar again and again,day after day!Well, this is called flower constancy (and not,as one might assume the constant beauty of my wisteria) although from my point of view it could be called bumblebee constancy!

Bumblebees will also tend to visit the same patches of flowers every day, as long as they continue to find nectar and pollen,[11] a habit known as pollinator or flower constancy. While foraging, bumblebees can reach ground speeds of up to 15 metres per second (54 km/h).[12] from;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bumblebee

Wisteria sinensis
Scientific classification
Kingdom: Plantae
(unranked): Angiosperms
(unranked): Eudicots
(unranked): Rosids
Order: Fabales
Family: Fabaceae
Subfamily: Faboideae
Tribe: Millettieae
Genus: Wisteria
Species: W. sinensis
Binomial name
Wisteria sinensis
(SimsDCfrom:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wisteria_sinensis
13 thoughts on “Wisteria sinensis and buzz about flower constancy

    1. Well, the fragrance is sweet, stronger at the evenings when we love to lit a candle at the terrace and invite friends to enjoy with us in the weeks of blooming wisteria

      Like

  1. Your photos are quite exceptional; I think I can smell the fragrance. I love wisteria. I have two arbors that are part of my front porch, both are covered with wisteria and they are absolutely amazing when they are in bloom.

    Like

  2. That’s funny that it’s called flower constancy, isn’t it? I like that! Not surprising that bees would keep to a successful route, just like most birds & animals, I think. And Wisteria, how beautiful! Don’t you LOVE May?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

