Daphne mezereum-mezereon

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Early spring flowers take all attention , they are first, after all. Modest they might be, but they evoke the primordial feelings about the cycles of year and life. Beginnings are always sweet, as all spring flowers are. But they can be toxic, like mezereon, small bush from the forest rim. When summer comes,  its simple sweet smelling flowers will vanish till the next year. And then the cycle will begin again. Sweet smell and poison, spring and winter, life and death, again and again…….. 

File:Daphne mezereum - Köhler–s Medizinal-Pflanzen-050.jpg

Daphne_mezereum_-_Köhler–s_Medizinal-Pflanzen-050.jpg ‎(438 × 591 pixels, file size: 113 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg), from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Daphne_mezereum_-_K%C3%B6hler%E2%80%93s_Medizinal-Pflanzen-050.jpg

10 thoughts on “Daphne mezereum-mezereon

    1. Thank you! I am pleased you took my advice , I believe it’s mush better to use spices from the garden than the ones already processed in bottles or boxes.

      Like

  1. Sweet, poisonous, alluring to eyes or taste– reminds me when my pet cat Franklin drank from a bucket I had dumped drained car radiator anti-freeze into and it filled up with rainwater. To the cat the mix must have be sweet and pleasant tasting. The vet gave me an option of treatment with filling the cat with alcohol so the liver would absorb the alcohol and not the ant-freeze in an attempt to save the cat. My negligence, so I opted for the treatment and Franklin lived to old age.

    Like

    1. What a story about Franklin! And you are a good storyteller, you should write some for your blog!I have to warn my friend, she has some cats.
      Wishing you a nice week!

      Like

      1. I did once, I’ll look it up and make sure I posted it. It was about a young boy who contracted dengue fever and how his condition was misdiagnosed which is not uncommon. End of story the boy dies after finally being properly diagnosed, one day to late.

        Like

Leave a Reply

