Cetonia aurata, C.G.Jung and synchronicity

Today I came along the same bush I wrote about in my previous post ”Visitors”, describing a merry buzzing group of diverse insects. A surprise! This time the  entire bush was conquered by rose chafers solely,  each of them resembling a small green armored vehicle cruising  over white flowers.  Due to special circumstances C.G. Jung would call this synchronicity, a meaningful coincidence a subject finds between causally unrelated events. It made me think, anyway……………..

 

In his book Synchronicity (1952), Jung tells the following story as an example of a synchronistic event:

A young woman I was treating had, at a critical moment, a dream in which she was given a golden scarab. While she was telling me this dream, I sat with my back to the closed window. Suddenly I heard a noise behind me, like a gentle tapping. I turned round and saw a flying insect knocking against the window-pane from the outside. I opened the window and caught the creature in the air as it flew in. It was the nearest analogy to a golden scarab one finds in our latitudes, a scarabaeid beetle, the common rose-chafer (Cetonia aurata), which, contrary to its usual habits had evidently felt the urge to get into a dark room at this particular moment. I must admit that nothing like it ever happened to me before or since.[14] from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synchronicity

 

 

wpid-imag0321.jpgwpid-imag0309.jpgwpid-imag0315.jpgwpid-imag0305.jpgwpid-imag0325.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Cetonia aurata, C.G.Jung and synchronicity

  1. beautiful photos + it is nice to know there is a larger japanese looking beetle that does not destroy and hurt plants. I just read a bit abou this one you have + it is helpful, but the smaller japanese beetle is so destructive to our gardens in USA. I was disappointed when I found out they were so destructive, but they sure are beautiful! I like shiny things + they are magical:-)

    Like

  2. I love the idea of synchronicity, have experienced it and wrote about it in my book.
    Beautiful site! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

